By Andy P XIII on Mar 13, 2021 at 1:16 PM
  1. Andy P XIII

Andy P XIII Moderator

Header_-_PF2K.png

(Andy's note: I've been working with PF2K on the Romans since 2018, and even I have had all sorts of questions over the years about how we were going to pull this off. PF2K has always had the answer. Before I let him speak, I want to say a few words:

In the last two years he and I have discussed this Romans project every day around the clock. Even though I have a separate career, I have worked more closely with him than any other person during this time. It took us about a month to blueprint the civ -- designing every Unit, Building, and Tech. We had to choose not just what historic Roman units we’d use, but what Building they’d train from, in what Age, what Units they’d counter, etc. It was a massive balancing act, especially since we were designing the Romans to fit into a game with six existing civs.

That month I was floored with PF2K’s ability to balance the Romans in his head in real time. I’d suggest, for instance, moving a ranged anti-infantry unit from Age 2 into Age 3. Without blinking, PF2K could immediately respond, explaining how that suggestion would throw off the balance with one of the other civs, making the Romans too powerful or too weak at a specific moment in the game. He was like a musician reading sheet music and hearing an orchestra that’s never played. And months later once we built the 3D models, I saw that he had been right the whole time. With almost no tweaking, the Romans were essentially balanced before we ever played them. PF2K represents the confluence of exceptional talent and bottomless passion. It’s an absolute joy to work with him.

I have been extremely active in the Age community for about nine years. I have met hundreds of players and interacted with thousands more. I can confidently say that Pooya Fatehi is the most knowledgeable and passionate Age of Empires player I have ever met.