(Steam) Game launches - crashes after load screen with no error log

Discussion in 'Installation' started by jake, Aug 16, 2018.

  1. jake

    jake Villager

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. Loading...


  3. NCSGeek

    NCSGeek Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Which antivirus and/or antimalware programs do you use?
     
  4. jake

    jake Villager

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had McAAfe for some reason so I Geek uninstalled it. other than that I also turned off windows defender
     
  5. NCSGeek

    NCSGeek Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Now that mcafee is gone, try running a game scan then see if it works.
     
  6. jake

    jake Villager

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well that fixed the button not doing anything - however at the load screen it will now freeze til I kill it- I still get the custom cursor as soon as it happens but no crash report at the end and then trying to relaunch minimises the launcher - then if I do a game scan again it runs but does the same as above
     
  7. NCSGeek

    NCSGeek Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Hm. Sorry for all of the trouble. Have you tried checking the event viewer for errors regarding Spartan.exe? You can open the event viewer by doing WIN+R then typing 'eventvwr' and hitting enter.
     
  8. jake

    jake Villager

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No luck finding it in the Event viewer. I might just clean install it and go from there if not I'll just cry over not getting nostalgia. ;(
     
  9. NCSGeek

    NCSGeek Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    We'll get this working one way or another! ^^

    See if everything works while in "Safe Mode with Networking". To get into that mode, google how to boot into it for your windows version.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice