disconnection during the game

Discussion in 'Connectivity' started by 11david11, May 14, 2019.

  1. 11david11

    11david11 Villager

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am often disconnected before I can finish my quests.
    I have to restart the game every time.
    How can I fix this problem?

    thx for answers.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  2. Loading...


  3. Ardeshir

    Ardeshir Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Do you have a problem with disconnecting in any other game, or just AOEO? Are these singleplayer or Co-op quests/gamestates you're having trouble with, or both?

    I'd try running a game scan (under the hammer icon on Celeste Client), and making sure your windows, firewall or antivirus aren't stuck asking for permission or to allow an exception as the game launches (alt tab as soon as you launch the game and make sure there isn't a security or admin privileges popup sitting open. If there is then ok/allow it.)

    Another question, what antivirus do you use?
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  4. 11david11

    11david11 Villager

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have no problem with other games just aoeo.
    the problem is on all modes of play.
    I often run a game scan before playing.
    My windows firewall helpers are valids.(launcher,spartan,multiplayer)
    I don't have an antivirus installed.
    I just have windows defender.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  5. Ardeshir

    Ardeshir Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Weird. And you definitely aren't having defender flag the game and ask about exceptions on startup? I'm not sure what else could be the problem on your end other than ISP issues. Are your ports forwarded? I know it usually only matters for playing coop or pvp, but if you are a solo player with yet to forward ports I'd try that. 1000-1005 UDP.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  6. ...ReignOfRagnarok

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am having the same problem as 11david11. I have tried all of the above mentioned. No success. Still getting booted. Any other suggestions?
     
  7. Ardeshir

    Ardeshir Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Try messaging the help channel in the discord. Good way to reach a few with more technical skills than I.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  8. Aaron

    Aaron Champion

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is your connection stable? From my past experience, AOEO's ability to reconnect is very lacking (by which I mean non-existent). Even if your connection DC's for a few seconds it would get you kicked out. For me a stronger WiFi dongle fixed the issue, your mileage might vary.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  9. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    This game is far more touchy than other games when it comes to internet connections. If you have a small interruption in connection, even so small you do not even realize you are going offline for even just a second, you will get the DC. You may want to try a wired connection if possible, monitor your connectivity a bit, and if you are getting brief interruptions, call your ISP and see if they can do somthing to give you a more stable constant connection.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  10. Lwt

    Lwt Spearman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Having the same issue and it's only in this game. This makes the game unplayable, sadly.
     
    #9 Lwt, Nov 12, 2019 at 12:16 PM
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2019
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  11. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  12. Lwt

    Lwt Spearman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah, I got that. I don't see how the ISP can fix this. The game shouldn't disconnect you for these short pauses.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  13. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    If your ISP is selling you internet service that constantly has short interruptions, it would be their responsibility to fix it, don't you think?
    I would contact them if it was me. They would probably come out and put boosters on the connection going to your house.
     
  14. Lwt

    Lwt Spearman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I see your point. Hovewer it's not happening constantly , but it's still enough to be a problem. Still, I don't think it's my connection that's the biggest issue seeing as it doesn't happen in any other online games I play.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  15. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I understand how frustrating it is man. Its irritating. Hopefully you can get it figured out. :cryingcat: sorry you are dealing with it at all.
     
  16. ...ReignOfRagnarok

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Just wanted to post an update...

    After a great deal of troubleshooting, it turned out to be my over-the-line ethernet (which I discarded for an old-fashioned 100ft CAT5e wire). It seems my ISP was providing a steady signal, but somehow I was losing connection over the copper wiring. I'm lucky to have guessed this, because running a diagnosis of my connection didn't show any disconnects, even when losing contact with the Celeste server. Unexplainable, but fixed. Glad to be running AoE steadily now!
     
  17. ...ReignOfRagnarok

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh, and being disconnected mid-quest was one of the reported reasons that so many gamers stepped away from the original AoEO. Perhaps a way of adjusting the sensitive need by the game for an uninterrupted connection might help with a host of connectivity issues that others are still having?
     
  18. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Nice! I am glad you are up and running. Perhaps we could use this as a troubleshoot for future folks that have them.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  19. Jeinx

    Jeinx Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    It is one of the most frustrating things ever. I agree.
     
    ...ReignOfRagnarok likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice