Cannot Scan Game and stuck in a loop to start the game

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Romaniac01, Feb 12, 2021.

  1. Romaniac01

    Romaniac01 Long Swordsman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi,

    I have Celeste V3.4.1.0 and I tried to open the game, but the game is stuck in a loop to scan and cannot scan.

    I have the game with Steam.

    Do you know what the issue might be and how to resolve it?

    Thanks
    Romaniac01
     
  2. Loading...


  3. martinmine

    martinmine Server Engineer
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Could you describe a bit more by what you mean by stuck in a loop?
     
  4. Romaniac01

    Romaniac01 Long Swordsman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I press on start game,
    then the games asks me to scan,
    I press yes,
    Game scan does not work
    it then starts the pop up again of do you want to scan, I press yes and above happens again.

    If I press no, then keep getting shown the pop up message constantly to scan the game.

    thus a loop :-(
     
  5. Romaniac01

    Romaniac01 Long Swordsman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i seem to be able to use the old version of celelste launcher that i have and it does see to work.

    but i am no longer on steam...
     
  6. martinmine

    martinmine Server Engineer
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    33
    What do you mean by "does not work", do you get an error message or what happens? I would try and delete all the DLL files in the installation directory of your Steam game and install the new launcher. Then run a game scan (any missing DLLs should be automatically download as part of the game scan)
     
  7. Romaniac01

    Romaniac01 Long Swordsman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I will try that tomorrow, but at the moment, I think my error is caused by the new celestial v3.4.1.0 because ever since I upgraded to that I have been able to rescan and update the game.

    As mentioned I can bypass the issue by having an older celeste version 3.2 and then scanning the game in the folder with the 3.4.1.0 version.

    I have had 2 issues where I cannot update the game because nothing shows up, no error no info. It acts as if the request to update does not get received by a function and then the sending function must have some sort of time out if there is no reply from the server and at which point the updater assumed success or failure and continues like nothing happened.

    But I'll try deleting the ddls in the folder and maybe reinstalling v3.4.1.0
     
  8. Romaniac01

    Romaniac01 Long Swordsman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Uninstalling the game from steam, deleting everything from the common steam library related to celeste and redownloading and reinstalling everything has resolved the issue.

    Thanks for the idea.

    Ticket can be marked as resolevd
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice