Gear Guide - Part 1 - Shared Units and Buildings

Discussion in 'PvE Tips & Tutorials' started by Aryzel, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Aryzel

Aryzel Immortal

Hey all,
    I've being doing some analysis on gear since I started playing to help me make good choices and I'm trying to knock it into good enough shape to be shared and useful to the community. I'm splitting into a different area at a time and hopefully build up something decent for people.

This first part is on common units, Villagers, Caravans, Fishing boats, Transports and all Buildings. Have a look through the attached sheet and let me know what you think and what mistakes I've made. The maths/analysis is mainly on the right so you might need to scroll your columns a bit to see it all.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...o61pzQyDTPILsaH6f_XTx-fXo/edit#gid=2138260370

Some notes, to give a quick summary and things of interest:
    - Not a huge difference in effect between the Kaveh and Divine Construction hammers, but Construction is a bit better.

- Training time is the way to go on villagers, the cheap Goibniu's Mead is almost perfect and if you never upgrade from that you are fine.

- For buildings cost is normally much better than build time, with the exception of Town Center where you need to factor in the extra speed you'll get villagers out in.

- The difference between basic items you get for 1-5k compared to what you can spend 200k on is really minor, talking 1-3 resources per game.

- Storehouses have a decent base line of sight, so if you put LOS gear on them they are pretty nice for a small resource cost.

- 2 villagers build something 25% faster than 1. 3 build it 40% faster, 4 build it 50% faster (ie in half the time). Not much point using more than 4 villagers and if you can be efficient and build with just 1 villager per building then you'll probably save more resources than having max gear on them.